We don't support landscape mode. Please rotate to portrait mode for better experience

Back to News

ole Named 2009 CCMA Music Publisher of the Year


September 17, 2009  – TORONTO: ole, one of the world’s largest independent music publishers, is pleased to announce that Canadian Country Music Awards named ole 2009 Music Publisher of the Year on September 13th in Vancouver. The Toronto-based music publisher – which also has offices in Los Angeles and Nashville – earned the honour for the third year […]

September 17, 2009  - TORONTOole, one of the world's largest independent music publishers, is pleased to announce that Canadian Country Music Awards named ole 2009 Music Publisher of the Year on September 13th in Vancouver. The Toronto-based music publisher - which also has offices in Los Angeles and Nashville - earned the honour for the third year running as it continues to find success on Canadian country radio, while expanding into new markets both in North America and overseas.
"ole is very pleased to have been chosen Music Publisher of the Year, once again this year," says ole Chairman and CEO, Robert Ott. "Success begins when a great song meets a great artist performance. ole is the first half of that equation. We are committed to working with our songwriters to contribute hit songs that resonate globally and stand the test of time."
ole writers and artists were part of some of the biggest hits of the year, including Taylor Swift's #1 album "Fearless," featuring the single "White Horse" and "Tell Me Why", as well as seven hits on her debut album, headlining "Tim McGraw", "Picture To Burn", "Cold As You", Tied Together With A Smile", "Stay Beautiful", and "Mary's Song (Oh! My, My, My)". Taylor has recently been in the studio to record a number of new songs for a special fall re-release of "Fearless", adding two new ole songs to the package, "SuperStar" and "Come In With The Rain". In addition, the International hybrid release of her album includes five ole copyrights.
ole/Roots Three band, Doc Walker, earned awards for Group or Duo of the Year, for their hit "Coming Home" and also Website of the Year and Guitar Player of the Year (honouring their guitarist, Murray Pulver). The publisher also featured prominently on the debut album by Rising Star winner, Tara Oram, containing five ole copyrights, including "Go To Bed Angry". This year ole has had songs recorded by The Road Hammers, including the new single, "Goodbye Dust", cuts by Shane Yellowbird, The Wilsons, Doc Walker, The Higgins, Jason Blaine, Steven Lee Olsen's single, "Now". Additional cuts included "Love Like That", by Willie Mack, "Lookin' At You" by Brad Johner, "Broken Windows" by Jaydee Bixby and the single by Lyric Street's new act Love And Theft titled "Dancing In Circles". ole was thrilled to also have written "How Do I Get There" for Aaron Pritchett; "My Suitcase", the top five Australian hit by Shea Fisher, and "Lies" & "Walk Away" for the legendary Martina McBride.
"Our prominent presence underscored ole's status as a major force in Canadian Country Music," says President Mike McCarty. "We were well represented on most of the other nominees' albums, and even among performers at the New Artist Showcase!".

 About ole

ole is one of the world's largest independent, full-service music publishers, with offices in Toronto, Nashville and Los Angeles. ole boasts a team of 30 experienced industry professionals focused on acquisitions, creative development and worldwide administration.

The ole catalog includes over forty thousand songs and thirty thousand hours of TV music across all genres.

Notable ole awards include Canadian Country Music Association Publisher of the Year honours for 2007, 2008 and 2009;  2008 ASCAP "Most Performed Song" Award for Josh Turner's, "Me and God"; SOCAN International Television Series Music Award for "Franklin" and Domestic Animated Television Series Music Award for "6Teen; andSESAC Awards in 2008 for Recurrent Country Performance Activity Award for "Teardrops on My Guitar" and Country Performance Activity Award for "Picture to Burn", both co-written by ole's Liz Rose and performed by Taylor Swift.

ole is an expert in administrating and sub-publishing music copyrights and has concluded worldwide publishing administration agreements with some of the world's leading film and television producers.  ole's owned and controlled catalogue in children's television is one of the world's largest.

Staff songwriters and composers include: Jack Lenz, Gerald O'Brien, Mark J. Feist, JC Smith, Rupert Gayle, Tebey, Gilles Godard, Rebecca Everett, Mladen, Willie Mack, Kelly Archer, and Roger Springer. ole also administers for songwriters David Kopatz and Dr. Alex Tsisserev of Mad Love Music.

ole co-ventures include Last Gang Publishing, representing artists Mother Mother, O'Luge, Rides Again, Let's Go To War, Panurge, Murray Yates (Forty Foot Echo), and Steven Dall. Nashville-based co-venture Roots Three Music includes songwriters Chris Thorsteinson, Murray Pulver and Dave Wasyliw of Doc Walker, Bruce Wallace, Steven Lee Olsen, Denny Carr, and Kaci Bolls. ole's urban co-venture with Tanjola (formerly ib Entertainment) has brought Dru, Alonzo, Haydain Neale, Alex Greggs and Shiloh to the roster.

Notable copyrights for ole include the Taylor Swift singles "White Horse", "Tim McGraw," "Picture To Burn" and the iTunes No. 1 Selling Country Song of 2007 "Teardrops On My Guitar", Kelly Clarkson's Billboard #1 single "Miss Independent", "Can't Hold Us Down" by Christina Aguilera and Lil' Kim, "Cause A Scene" by Teairra Mari featuring Flo Rida, "Black Velvet" by Alannah Myles, Craig Morgan's "That's What I Love About Sunday" (2005 Billboard Country Song of the Year), "Shoes" by Shania Twain (from the album Music Inspired by Desperate Housewives), Sean Paul's "Change the Game", Trace Adkins' "High", "Long Black Train" by Josh Turner, and "It Was Me" by George Strait. Recent ole cuts include "I'm Already There" by Westlife, "After Tonight" by Justin Nozuka, "Once In A While" by Akon, Kristy Lee Cook's "15 Minutes Of Shame", "Another Pot O' Tea" by Anne Murray/Emmylou Harris, "You Got Me Runnin" performed by Doman + Gooding and written by Dru and Rupert Gayle, "Streetlights" performed by Kevin Borg and written by Steven Lee Olsen, "Lies" performed by Martin McBride and written by Gerald O'Brien, "Goodbye, You Suck" by Shiloh and five songs on the latest Road Hammers album, Road Hammers II.

Back to News

Connect and collaborate

Keep the beat.

Share your email to get the latest Anthem news delivered to your inbox.

© 2023 Anthem Entertainment L.P.