We don't support landscape mode. Please rotate to portrait mode for better experience

Back to News

ole Receives Indie Publisher of the Year Award From AIMP


(l-r) Lauren Carter (ole office coordinator), Steven Karpowicz (SVP MusicBox), David Weitzman (ole VP Business Development), Jennifer Essiembre (ole Creative Manager), Brandon Schott (ole Sr. Mgr., Sync and Licensing), Andrew Robbins (MusicBox, Director, Film & TV Licensing), Eric Spence (ole-bluestone) and Marcus Spence (ole-bluestone)

The Los Angeles chapter of the Association of Independent Music Publishers (AIMP) presented its prestigious Indie Publisher of the Year Award to ole, the world’s fastest-growing independent rights management company, at the AIMP LA Chapter Awards, Mixer & Benefit held on December 11th at BMI’s offices in Los Angeles. It was the first time that ole has received the award.

ole executive David Weitzman, Vice President of Business Development, accepted the award on behalf of the company. The honor comes as the company celebrates a 10th anniversary year that also saw its eighth straight CCMA Award for Music Publishing Company of the Year and unparalleled financial growth.

“It means a great deal to ole to be honored in this way by our colleagues in the AIMP. Attending AIMP meetings in the earliest stages of my career was a necessary inspiration in continuing my personal journey, and I applaud their continued work on behalf of our community,” said Robert Ott, Chairman and CEO of ole. “ole’s successful ten-year journey has been very gratifying, but I am even more excited about our future. I share this recognition with our world-class staff and songwriters.”

ole is pleased to be recognized for this prestigious award by such an important organization in our community, the AIMP,” said Weitzman. “We’re very pleased that the AIMP is recognizing ole’s achievement of ten successful years as an independent music publishing company. We’ve been supporting talent, other music publishers, and creators and have been a community player. Also, we’ve epitomized what it means to be independent right down to our trademarked ’majorly indie’ brand.”

“As President of the AIMP Board, we are honored to present our Publisher of the Year Award to ole,” said David Hirshland, President of the AIMP and Senior Vice President of Client Services at BMG Chrysalis. “ole has embodied the spirit of the independent publishing community since its founding in 2004. We congratulate them and wish Robert and his team continued success and a long future.”

The event, which was open to AIMP members only, celebrated the holiday season while raising money for charity.

This year, ole celebrated its 10th anniversary in style, winning a variety of awards including a Best R&B Song GRAMMY for Justin Timberlake’s “Pusher Love Girl,” which was co-written by ole songwriter Timbaland, as well as numerous ASCAP Pop Music Awards and ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Music Awards for Timbaland co-writes with Timberlake and Jay Z. ole also acquired the rights to the full catalog of iconic Canadian rock band Rush as well as Nu Image Millennium’s A/V music publishing catalog. In addition, ole’s Nashville office successfully placed the song “People Loving People,” co-written by ole legacy songwriter Chris Wallin, on Garth Brooks’ comeback album Man Against Machine, with the track becoming Brooks’ first single since 2007. Finally, the company celebrated its decade in the business with a blow-out bash in Toronto featuring performances from ole songwriter Haley Reinhart and country musician Tim Hicks.

Back to News

Connect and collaborate

Keep the beat.

Share your email to get the latest Anthem news delivered to your inbox.

© 2023 Anthem Entertainment L.P.